02 - Face of Your Classroom

Thing 2 – Face of Your Classroom

 

Thing 2 was exciting for me to complete. I’ve always wanted a “Face” for my classroom but never took the time out of my busy schedule to create one. I never knew where to start! This module gave me insight on how I wanted my classroom to look. There are four options to choose from:

  1. Learning Management Systems
  2. Web Site Creators
  3. Blogs and Wikis
  4. District Online Systems

My first task was to decided what look to go for. I chose to create the face of my classroom with a website. Since I teach elementary special education, my audience for my website will be my older students that know how to read and/or parents.

Next task I find myself asking the question, what do I put on my website!? I sit through an average of 5-7 meetings weekly with parents, students, and other staff. There are team meetings, student assistance meetings, data meetings, IEP meetings, REED meetings, etc. that take place on a weekly basis in my field. There, I provide ideas on how to support students in the general education classroom, explain tools I use in my classroom, create action plans,  provide support to parents and staff, and much more. I have realized that this website can be the perfect tool to share with fellow staff members and families of kids that I support. All my ideas and resources that I use with students can be put in one place!

I cant wait to see what my website looks like at the end of my 21 Things journey. Right now I’ve got the bare bones, but I plan making this not only the face of but the home of my classroom!

Here is the link to my new website: Mrs. Skelton’s Resource Room 

Screenshot 2016-12-04 at 5.28.46 PM.png

How did I do? Here is the rubric that will be used to see if I have an exemplary site.

Leave a comment